2011 Major Series Lacrosse Awards

Ballot and statistics have determined the 2011 Major League Award winners. The voting was close in all divisions except the most valuable player and mirrored the competitive season completed.

The Jim Murphy award for the most valuable player in the Major Series Lacrosse league was Shawn Williams of the Brooklin Redmen. Shawn was the leader of the spectacular turnaround of the Redmen. His experience and maturity sparked all players on his team. Rarely has one player provided such leadership.

Shawn also won the MSL scoring championship and will receive the Bucko McDonald award emblematic of the scoring leader. In a fantastic performance Shawn scored 41 goals and 79 assists for 120 points in only 17 games. The next nearest player to him was 36 points behind. Shawn has had many good seasons in the league but none better than 2011.

The Merv McKenzie award was won by Jesse Gamble of the Kitchener Waterloo Kodiaks. The balloting for the defense of player in the league was very close and Jesse won out by a narrow margin. His defensive play and outstanding loose ball work is complemented by his ability to be an offensive threat for his team. Jesse is a second-year player and will be a leader for years to come.

The Gene Dopp Award for the outstanding rookie of the 2011 season has been won by Jordan MacIntosh of the Ajax Rock. Jordan was a first-round pick out of Burlington Junior and his outstanding start with the Ajax team certainly justifies their decision to draft him. He picked up 60 points during the season and took most of the face-offs for the Rock. He will only get better.

The Six Nations net minding trio of Matt Vinc, Mike Poulin, and Jeff Powless won the Harry Lumley award for the goaltenders allowing the least goals during the season. The season started with Matt Vinc and Jeff Powless guarding the nets for the Chiefs. Mike Poulin was picked up in a trade with the Kodiaks. With an outstanding defense in front of them they made it tough for opposition marksmen to score.

All awards will be presented during the Ontario Final Playoffs.


  • Shots On Goal

    • 1,177,549 since (Feb/07)
  • LITG Co-Ed Sports

  • Like Us On Facebook

  • Pages

  • Archives