2010 Men’s and Women’s Tewaaraton Finalists Announced

Award Celebrates Ten Year Anniversary on June 3rd

Washington, D.C. – The Greater Washington Sports Alliance and the University Club of Washington, DC are proud to announce the 2010 Men’s and Women’s Tewaaraton Finalists.  The Tewaaraton Award is presented to the most outstanding men’s and women’s collegiate lacrosse player as determined by two selection committees, consisting of collegiate coaches throughout all divisions of the sport.

The selection process began with a list of over 100 of the nation’s top men’s and women’s collegiate players, which was then narrowed down to selective list of fewer than 50. Of these, ten have been named as finalists, five men and five women, in which only two will be able to walk away with the sport’s top honor.

 “I truly believe that each of these finalists has showcased the ability to step forward and claim the Tewaaraton Award as their own this year. As I have stated throughout the season, the selection committees have done an extraordinary job at selecting the top contenders battling for this year’s award. Everyone is welcome to come out and see which of these finalist has stepped forward to claim their place in history at the June 3rd Award Ceremony” stated Robert Sweeney, President of the Greater Washington Sports Alliance. 

All finalists will be invited to the June 3rd Tewaaraton Award Ceremony taking place in Washington, D.C. at the Smithsonian National Museum of the American Indian. This is the third time that the ceremony has taken place in the Museum which includes an exhibit on the Native roots and history of lacrosse.

Official Men’s 2010 Tewaaraton Award Finalists

Ken Clausen, University of Virginia – Senior (Defense), Downingtown, PA
Ned Crotty, Duke University – Senior (Attack), New Vernon, N.J.
Kevin Crowley, Stony Brook University – Junior (Midfield), New Westminster, B.C., Canada
Curtis Dickson, University of Delaware – Senior (Attack), Port Coquitlam, B.C., Canada
Joel White, Syracuse University – Junior (Defense), Cortland, N.Y.

Official Women’s 2010 Tewaaraton Award Finalists

Ali DeLuca, University of Pennsylvania – Senior (Midfield), Hillsborough, N.J.
Katrina Dowd, Northwestern University – Senior (Midfield), Yorktown Heights, N.Y.
Brittany Kalkstein, University of Virginia – Senior (Midfield), Baltimore, MD
Caitlyn McFadden, University of Maryland – Senior (Midfield), Phoenix, MD
Jenn Russell, University of North Carolina – Senior (Midfield), Andover, MA

There is still availability for those wishing to attend the 2010 Tewaaraton Award Ceremony on Thursday, June 3. The two winners of the 10th Annual Tewaaraton Award will be presented at this ceremony along with the 2010 High School All-Tewaaraton Team, presented by Toyota, and the 2010 Tewaaraton Scholarship Recipients. For more information please visit www.tewaaratonaward.org.

About The Tewaaraton Award:

The Tewaaraton Award was formally established in August of 2000 with the inaugural presentation taking place at The University Club of Washington DC in June of 2001. Honoring the Native American heritage, the Tewaaraton Trophy symbolizes lacrosse’s centuries-old roots in Native American history. Tradition dictates that each year the Tewaaraton Award celebrates one of the six tribal nations of the Iroquois Confederacy: the Mohawk, Cayuga, Oneida, Onondaga, Seneca, and the Tuscarora. Today, the Tewaaraton Trophy is recognized as the pre-eminent lacrosse award honoring the nation’s top male and female collegiate lacrosse player for their extraordinary achievements on the field. www.tewaaratonaward.org.

About Greater Washington Sports Alliance:

Established in 2003, The Greater Washington Sports Alliance (GWSA) is a regional non-profit sports commission created to foster economic development and civic pride through the power of sports. The Sports Alliance’s mission encompasses the attraction of sporting events to the region, the promotion of the regional professional, collegiate and amateur franchises, the support of youth investment organizations and the branding of Washington, D.C. as a world class sports destination. For more information please visit www.gwsportsalliance.com.


Ona Madonia
Greater Washington Sports Alliance


  • Shots On Goal

    • 1,177,202 since (Feb/07)
  • LITG Co-Ed Sports

  • Like Us On Facebook

  • Pages

  • Archives