Excelsiors Complete Four Game Sweep

All photos courtesy of M40 Images

Well many had called it at the beginning of the 2008 Major Series Lacrosse Season, and Tuesday night it became a reality.  The Brampton Excelsiors are the 2008 Mann Cup Champions after defeating the New Westminster Salmonbellies 9-5, completing a four game sweep of the Western Champions.  The Excelsiors in front of their home fans broke open a 3-3 tie in the second period and for the fourth straight game, they never looked back.

New Westminster came out and played an inspired first period.  Similar to game three they held a 2-1 lead on goals by Curtis Manning and Jamie Floris.  Aaron Wilson scored for Brampton before Dan Dawson would net a goal with only 22 seconds left in the first period.  That goal seemed to deflate New Westminster and inspire Brampton.

In the second period, Dawson would score his second followed by a goal by Jeff Shattler, on a nice breakout pass from goalie Anthony Cosmo.  With the lead 4-2 for Brampton, Blaine Manning would score a short handed goal that was pretty much the end for the Bellies.  Manning fought off a double team at the end boards to the right of goalie Matt Roik.  After coming out of the corner, Manning battled his way to the front of the net, faked Roik to the right side and came back short side for the score.  Cliff Smith would score to close New West to within a couple of goals once again, but Dan Teat quickly re-established the lead to 6-3 .  The Bellies would not lie down though and Chris Gill would score late in the period to being the game back to 6-4.

The third period was all Brampton.  Blaine Manning, Colin Doyle, and Brodie Merrill would score to open up a 9-4 lead.  Nenad Gajic would score late to bring New West to 9-5, but that was as close as they would get.

The victory gave Brampton their 9th Mann Cup. It also tied Brampton with New Westminster, each team having defeated the other four times to with the Cup.

Official Mann Cup Game Stats

Other Game Notes:

– Player of the game for New West was Nenad Gajic, while Blaine Manning was for Brampton
– The Mike Kelly winner as MVP was Anthony Cosmo for Brampton and deservedly so.
– The Brampton crowd was again roughly 2200. A little disappointing to say the least.
– Although they never won a game, New Westminster showed the determination that has made them arguably the most storied franchise in the history of lacrosse. This is a team that will win very soon. They were jsut up against a star studded lineup in Brampton.

Wamp and I did another webcast of the game and if you’d like to, you can catch us below. A big thankn you to all out there that supported us doing this (after all we were rookies at this). It was a ton of fun and hopefully everyone that caught it had fun too.

Period 1 – File 1
Period 1 – File 2
Period 2
Period 3 – File 1
Period 3 – File 2
Period 3 – File 3



  1. fantastic pictures Marty

  2. gary.that was excellent.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Comments RSS

  • Shots On Goal

    • 1,176,879 since (Feb/07)
  • LITG Co-Ed Sports

  • Like Us On Facebook

  • Pages

  • Archives