Rochester Knighthawks 2007 NLL Champions

May 13, 2007
For Immediate Release
Scarborough, ON

The Rochester Knighthawks defeated the Arizona Sting by a final score of 13-11 in front of 9,796 fans at the Arena in Glendale, Arizona yesterday to claim the 2007 National Lacrosse League championship. The Knighthawks were up 10-6 going into the fourth quarter. Shawn Williams (3,3) scored less than a minute into the fourth for the 11-6 lead. However, the Sting continued to fight and in the next four minutes battled back to make it 11-10 with half a period to go in the contest. Bill Greer (1) scored a huge goal to extend the gap to two goals again and Rochester held on for the win. Also celebrating were Steve Toll (1,2), Mike Accursi (3,2) and Stephen Hoar (1,2).

The league also announced its First and Second Team All-Pro squads this weekend. Steve Toll who earlier won the Transition Player of the Year award was named to the First Team All-Pro team and Gavin Prout and Shawn Williams were named to the Second Team All-Pro squad.

Brooklin Redmen fans are hopeful that the success many Redmen players enjoyed in the winter for various National Lacrosse League teams will translate to the floor at Iroquois Park Sports Centre. The Redmen look forward to their home opener Wednesday May 30, 2007 at 8:00 p.m. when they host the Six Nations Chiefs.

Contact: Mark Stehlin 416.525.5624


  • Shots On Goal

    • 1,177,549 since (Feb/07)
  • LITG Co-Ed Sports

  • Like Us On Facebook

  • Pages

  • Archives